32 Comments
Apr 27, 2021Liked by 3musesmerge

What a serendipitous You-niverse! Just this morning I looked in the cabinet for pudding mix. Not just any kind, but Jello Vanilla Pudding mix!

Is that post hypnotic suggestion? Or magic? I think your saying BFN would be back later resembles the magician drawing the onlooker’s attention to some other thing with one hand... while the other hand performs the magic.

Just how did you plant the “Vanilla” part of the trick is what I want to know! 🤔

I’m glad I had no Jello mix on hand. Besides, when I come home with heavy whipping cream, my wife wants to nominate me for sainthood. At least until the cream runs out...

Putting a lock on the fridge has crossed my mind to insure enough remains for my recipe. Perhaps she’s a victim of “Cream Intemperance.” That could be another name for this lovely recipe!

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by 3musesmerge

Letting it cool for 20 mins so I can cling wrap and place into fridge. It certainly made the house smell really fragrant, pleasant.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, here too. Can you wait until tomorrow? Or will you have some tonight?

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by 3musesmerge

I shall be waiting until tomorrow. I have to get dinner, and it'll be too late to eat by the suggested three hour.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by 3musesmerge

Same step. Trying dissolve the starch into the three tbsp of milk. I did score orange blossom water but debating to use the rose water I already. What do you think?

Expand full comment
author

Does orange blossom water smell like oranges? I looked and it is not available at my local grocery.

I vote for orange blossom! As I already said... I'm going to use vanilla... and a pinch of cinnamon. I think you could add a variety of different flavors to the basic ingredients to suit your tastes.

Expand full comment

No, smells floral and subtle. Nothing really like oranges.

Expand full comment

Ok I’ll opt for the orange blossom then. I’ll pour out the rose water. What kind of cups are you using?

Expand full comment
author

I have glass dessert cups... like you might see in an old time ice cream parlor... only shorter. How about you?

Expand full comment

China tea cups

Expand full comment
author

Nice! I have about 5 more minutes before I add the cornstarch/milk mixture.

Expand full comment

I have about eight more minutes. It’s looking a little frothy.

Expand full comment
author

After Zef and I have garnished our puddings... I'll mesh out photos and share them in a newsletter. If you make the pudding... please let us know!

Expand full comment

Hi everyone. I’m Zef and live in Hammond, Indiana. In case any of you don’t know it’s located due east of Chicago on the shore of Lake Michigan.

Gail and I will be attempting to make this middle eastern dessert akin to a pudding or custard. I have learned to appreciate it my local restaurant.

Expand full comment
author

I've only had Jello pudding to the best of my memory. I'm looking forward to making pudding from scratch -- the recipe seems straightforward. Thanks for suggesting Muhullabia to me Zef... and thanks for collaborating. 😁

Expand full comment
author

Oh! I've washed my hands... and dissolved the cornstarch in milk. What step are you on?

Also... I've decided to use a cast iron pot because it has a thick bottom. What are you using Zef?

Expand full comment

I have a small stainless steel sauce pan with a thick bottom.

Expand full comment
author

Are you taking some photos? I hope so. If you will share them with me... I can post side by side in a future newsletter. My mixture of milk, cream, and sugar is on the heat... not yet boiling. I am watching closely so that it does not scorch.

Expand full comment

Trying to bring to a boil ATM

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by 3musesmerge

Rose water tastes like perfume or what I imagine it tastes like.

Expand full comment

Milk and cream mixture on burner and ready to stir up a frenzy.

Expand full comment
author

Me too!

Expand full comment