19 Comments
author

Anybody?

I'll start...

It's cloudy, wet, and windy in Wisconsin. My neighbor Lisa just called to see if we can share a walk sometime soon--she's a very active and social person.

Itching to get out?

And...I'm wondering when I can eat next--haha! Perhaps I should get out my yoga mat instead?

https://medium.com/@gailboenning/help-cfaf1a9c5a7b

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

Well, either you walked that crayfish (if that's what it is) or you're planning to eat it. lol. So I sent my seventh query to literary agents today, in my second batch. Twelve out so far. One rejection. And I finished and submitted the third of 3 essays I had in process. I have one more I'd like to tackle before 5 PM, when we'll build a fire and hibernate. (Which we do most Fridays anyway!)

Expand full comment
author

I took that photo at a seafood market in San Diego. Is it a shrimp?

Ha! "You know who" is my favorite fourleg Henrietta.

In the Godin workshop, today's prompt is about middlemen. We're supposed to share our plans of working with or getting around by going straight to the audience. What exactly is a literary agent's job--to find a publisher for a book? Sounds like you are well on your way to finding an agent! Are you working on essays for publication someplace other than your newsletter?

A fire sounds nice! I think I'll build one, too!

Thanks for sharing! ❤

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

It's cloudy and a little bit wet here too! My wife has been away for a few days visiting her daughter, son in law, and granddaughter in another part of the state. She has left and should be home in a few hours. So in preparation I stripped the bed and washed everything, vacuumed, dusted everything with Lysol and of course emptied the dishwasher.

Other than that I have been binge watching "The Expanse" on Prime.

I'll be glad when she is home and safe with me again.

Expand full comment
author

The Expanse--futuristic! What a gift you are offering your wife--a clean house! Hope she is home safe real soon.

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

Mount Eliza, South of Melbourne Australia. Not officially locked down, but more and more people working g from home, including me. My father's aged care home is in lock-down, so no more visits, just virtual ones. Lots of time for meditation.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Daan...First, I want to jet you know how much I continue to enjoy your “Kate” series. Thank you for sharing it on Medium.

How is you father handling virtual visits? I have given thought to the elderly in locked down care facilities. I talked to a neighbor this morning who works for a car dealership.

He said two people over the age of 60 bought new cars yesterday. Interesting?

Everybody had a unique perspective!

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

We have a day here with temps in the low 70s and “feels like” upper 70s. Heat is off, humidifier is off, windows are open, and we’re out on the back deck listening to the wind chimes. Oh, and tomorrow the low will be 27°, with a chance of snow Sunday night. ☀️ 😄 =>❄️🥶

Expand full comment
author

Lucky! For today anyhow. ;) I'm imagining your porch, the chimes, a cool glass of tea....Is the water feature on yet--or no because there are still freezing temps in your future forecast?

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

I hope our landscaper will install the pumps soon, while I watch, since “retired” = more time but less money. And {sigh} it would be nice to hear the water right now.

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

Hi Jack, I used to follow a wide array of story tellers on Medium, you included. And I think I remember a major rearrangement of your backyard, complete with flowing water.

Lovely.

Hope it was your backyard... ‘cause I pictured you and your wife on the deck taking in all the sights and sounds. Wind chimes included.

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

Hi Gary! Yep, that’s our backyard, but alas, no water yet, because it’s barely spring. But soon! [he said hopefully]

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2020Liked by 3musesmerge

Hi Gail, Your “Hello, hello, hello” was a nice start to your post. And “late” is relative, right?

The 3 sentences:

I disassembled a complicated lamp from atop a tall lamp post to clean the glass and the metal housing in general.

And then the easy part: accompanied my pollen-layered vehicle through a car wash! (I don’t own a yellow-green car after all)

Last, I “got my ears lowered,” as my grandfather called haircuts.

Is the crustacean a new friend? Or a dinner inspiration?

Be well.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Gary! I took the photo at a seafood market last summer in San Diego.

I like how he's looking into the camera. haha!

I told my Dad's joke here, right?

"Gail, I had surgery on my head yesterday." Pause. "I got my hair cut."

Oh! We have lights that could use cleaning. I should put Greg on that job.;)

Thanks for engaging here!

G

Expand full comment

Many of my daffodils opened today.

Coincidentally, I'm here procrastinating before trying to figure out how to use Zoom for work.

Expand full comment
author

I think my daffodils will start opening on our next sunny day. Rhubarb leaves are up and hyacinth greens are pushing through the mulch. :)

I'm getting used to Zoom. It's really an amazing tool! Will you use it with your students?

Expand full comment

That's the plan. I think it will help engage them, if I can get them to show up! But first I have to learn it. I'm told there's a way to show my screen, and to make a whiteboard kind of thing. I am clueless.

Expand full comment
author

Sorry, can't help you there...I do know how to set a meeting and show up, but I've never tried the whiteboard or screen share. Good luck!!

Expand full comment

No problem. I just registered for a Zoom webinar presented by a teacher I follow online. I'm hopeful it will provide me with everything I need to know. Thanks!

Expand full comment